5th Parliament swearing in ceremony of NA and NCOP

National Assembly and National Council of Provinces

  Latest Media Statements


National Assembly adopts Traditional Leadership and Governance Framework Amendment Bill and Carbon Tax Bill

Dr Zukile Luyenge's resignation from the ANC

The Office of the ANC Chief Whip confirms the resignation of serving ANC Member of Parliament, Dr Zukile Luyenge, as a member of the ANC. As it is common practice, the ANC Chief Whip, comrade Jackson Mthembu, confirmed Dr Luyenge's defection with him after his resignation was reported in the media over the weekend.

ANC Welcomes the establishement of the Ad-Hoc Committee to amend Section 25 of the Constitution

At its last plenary session for the year, the National Assembly adopted a motion tabled by the Chief Whip of the Majority Party, comrade Jackson Mthembu, to establish an Ad Hoc Committee in terms of National Assembly Rule 253, which will initiate and introduce legislation amending Section 25 of the Constitution, as per the recommendations contained in the Joint Constitutional Review Committee (JCRC) report.

2018 End of the Year Statement of the ANC Parliamentary Caucus

As 2018 draws to a close, the ANC Parliamentary Caucus appreciates that this year was dedicated to the celebration of the centenary of Mama Albertina Sisulu and Tata Nelson Mandela. Their contribution and legacy to the struggle for a liberated South Africa gave birth to our Constitution which today serves as a guiding light towards achieving a non-racial, non-sexist, united and a prosperous South Africa.

National Assembly Adopts Four Transformative Pieces Of Legislation

Today, the National Assembly (NA) passed four transformative pieces of legislation, namely; the iKamva National e-Skills Institute Bill [B10 - 2018], the Property Practitioners Bill [B21 - 2018], the Customary Initiation Bill [B7 - 2018], and lastly, the Foreign Service Bill [B35B - 2015].

  Private Member's Bill

Restitution of Land Rights Amendment Bill