Parliamentary Questions and Answers
Media Room Provincial Caucuses Jobs Links Support Services Tenders ANC Homepage


In terms of Rule 5 of the ANC Constitution, it is the duty of ANC members who hold elective office in any sphere of government to be members of the appropriate caucus, to function within its rules and to abide by its decisions under the general provisions of the Constitution and the constitutional structures of the ANC.

The sum total of ANC members of Parliament, including the President of the ANC, Ministers and Deputy Ministers constitute the ANC Caucus. The Members of the ANC Caucus at all levels of their deployment, derive their broad mandates from Caucus. At all material times such mandates will be consistent with resolutions of the ANC constitutional structures. The Caucus is a very important structure and its attendance is compulsory to all ANC public representatives.

The ANC Caucus consists of all ANC Members of Parliament - in the National Assembly and the National Council of Provinces.

The principal tasks of caucuses of political parties are to keep MP`s of each political formation informed about the parliamentary programme and to enable the MP`s to discuss and agree on the approach of their parties to all matters on the parliamentary agenda. They also serve as the organ within which those elected by Caucus to parliamentary positions account to the organisation as well as serving as institutions that ensures the accountability of members of Caucus. Caucuses also serve as the point of contact between the MP`s and the leadership of the organisation to which they belong. Caucuses manage the work of the study groups, which play the role of portfolio committee caucuses, and are therefore sub-structures of the national Caucus. As stated above Committee and Study Group chairs report to Caucus through the Chief Whip. The ANC Caucus carries out the above functions under the supervision of the Political Committee.

Click below for more information on ANC Caucus

« back