Parliamentary Questions and Answers
Media Room Provincial Caucuses Jobs Links Support Services Tenders ANC Homepage

Fatal accident involving ANC MPs

02 August 2017

It is with the deepest sadness that the Office of the ANC Chief Whip in Parliament has learnt of the fatal accident where a vehicle carrying four Members of Parliament was involved in a collision in Paarl around 8am this morning. Parliament`s Portfolio Committee on Basic Education was on oversight visiting schools in the Cape Winelands area of Paarl in the Western Cape.

One of our ANC MPs tragically lost their life while the other three MPs - Nomalungelo Gina of the ANC, Ian Ollis of the DA and Cynthia Majeke of the UDM sustained injuries. The three members are currently receiving care at the Paarl Medi-Clinic.

The name of the late member will be released after consultation with the family. The Office of the ANC Chief Whip has contacted the provincial ANC leadership of the province the late comrade is from, and they are currently on their way to inform the family.

The ANC Deputy Chief Whip comrade Doris Dlakude is currently on her way to Paarl to identify the comrade who has passed on and visit those in hospital.

This happens a few days after we lost another ANC MP comrade Bonhomme on Saturday 29 July 2017. We are deeply saddened by this loss as it occurred during an oversight visit in service of the people of South Africa.

We wish those in hospital a speedy recovery. This is indeed a very painful time for the ANC Parliamentary Caucus.

Further details will be released once the family of the deceased has been informed.

Issued by the Office of the ANC Chief Whip
Nonceba Mhlauli:
Media Liaison Officer
072 623 3462

« back