Parliamentary Questions and Answers
Media Room Provincial Caucuses Jobs Links Support Services Tenders ANC Homepage

Motion Congratulating Durban for Being Named UNESCO City of Literature

The African National Congress moves without notice: That the House

1) congratulates Durban for being officially granted the prestigious designation UNESCO Cities of Literature;
1) notes that UNESCO Cities of Literature was created in 2004 to promote co-operation with and among cities that had identified creativity as a strategic factor for sustainable urban development;
2) also notes that the 180 cities which currently make up this network working together towards a common objective of placing creativity and cultural industries at the heart of their development plans;
3) recognises that the KwaZulu-Natal coastal city is the first African city to have received UNESCO Cities of Literature;
4) believes that as a UNESCO Cities of Literature, Durban commits to build a welcoming and cooperative network that reflects the diversity and richness of the world's languages and literatures;
5) further believes that the achievement was not just for Durban, but was an achievement for the country and continent as a whole;
6) and thanking Durban for flying the South African flag high in international arena; and
7) wishes her more success in her endeavour to promote literature and creative arts tourism and encouragement of dialogue between cities.

« back