Parliamentary Questions and Answers
Media Room Provincial Caucuses Jobs Links Support Services Tenders ANC Homepage

Parliament to elect new President of the Republic

15 February 2018

The African National Congress (ANC) in Parliament will today, in the National Assembly, nominate ANC President and Deputy President of the Republic, comrade Cyril Ramaphosa, to be elected as the new President of the Republic of South Africa.

This follows the resignation of comrade President Jacob Zuma as President of the Republic, after the decision of the ANC National Executive Committee (NEC) to recall him from office as its deployee.

Today's sitting of the National Assembly will take place in terms of Section 86 of the Constitution which mandates the National Assembly to elect one among its members to be the President of the Republic of South Africa.

Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng will preside over the election of the President. The newly elected President will then address the sitting thereafter.

Issued by the Office of the ANC Chief Whip, Hon. Jackson Mthembu

Nonceba Mhlauli

« back