Parliamentary Questions and Answers
Media Room Provincial Caucuses Jobs Links Support Services Tenders ANC Homepage

New ANC Deployees to the Pan-African Parliament

07 May 2018

The Office of the ANC Chief Whip congratulates ANC Members of Parliament who were sworn in as Members of the Pan-African Parliament (PAP) today. Comrade Thandi Modise, comrade Thoko Didiza and comrade iNkosi Zwelivelile Mandela were among four members of the Parliament of the Republic of South Africa who were sworn in as representatives of the RSA Parliament to the PAP. Cde Thandi Modise is the leader of the South African delegation.

They are replacing comrade Hunadi Mateme, comrade Thandi Memela and comrade Charles Nqakula who previously served as ANC deployees to the PAP.

The PAP is one of the nine organs proposed in the 1991 Treaty Establishing the African Economic Community (Abuja Treaty). It is made up of 255 members representing 55 African Union Member States that have ratified the protocol establishing it. Its purpose, as set out in article 17 of the AU Constitutive Act, is "to ensure the full participation of African peoples in the development and economic integration of the continent". The Parliament is intended as a platform for people from all African states to be involved in discussions and decision-making on the problems and challenges facing the continent.

The Parliament sits in Midrand, South Africa, and meets from today, 7 May 2018 to 18 May 2018, under the theme: "Winning the Fight against Corruption: A Sustainable Path to Africa's Transformation."

The ANC has full confidence that our deployees will represent the South African Parliament and the people it represents, with the necessary vigour and commitment at this important institution for the development of the African people.

We wish them well in their new roles of responsibility.

Issued by the Office of the ANC Chief Whip, Hon. Jackson Mthembu.

Nonceba Mhlauli

« back