Parliamentary Questions and Answers
Media Room Provincial Caucuses Jobs Links Support Services Tenders ANC Homepage

ANC MP Vincent Smith's request to step aside acceded to

13 September 2018

The Political Committee of the ANC Parliamentary Caucus met on Wednesday, 12 September 2018, to consider, among other, a request from comrade Vincent Smith to step aside as Chairperson of the three parliamentary committees he chairs.

Last week, comrade Smith requested the leadership of the ANC Caucus to allow him to step aside from chairing any parliamentary committee until the investigation into allegations against him which have surfaced in the public domain have been concluded by the Ethics Committee.

The Political Committee welcomed and agreed to grant comrade Smith permission to step aside from chairing any portfolio committee until the finalisation of this case. Having allowed him to step aside as chairperson, he will remain an ordinary member of all committees he is a member of.

The ANC has therefore deployed the following comrades to hold the fort as Interim Chairpersons until the conclusion of this matter:

  • Comrade Standford Maila will be the Acting Co-Chairperson of the Joint Committee on Constitutional Review.
  • Comrade Madipoane Mothapo will be the Acting Chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Justice and Correctional Services.
  • Comrade Nthabiseng Khunou will be the Acting Chairperson of the Standing Committee on the Auditor-General.

Issued by the Office of the ANC Chief Whip, comrade Jackson Mthembu.


Nonceba Mhlauli

« back